Bosch Reconstructed

In Bosch Reconstructed, the artist and poet Paul takes eight works by Hieronymus Bosch (Ascent of the Blessed, Christ Crowned with Thorns, The Extraction of the Stone of Madness, the three panels of The Garden of Earthly Delights, The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things, and The Temptation of St. Anthony) and abstracts them through pixelation to reveal average color distributions over given areas of the image, from the entirety of the painting as one solid color to a “full resolution” image of the painting. Through these eleven stages of resolution, attention is called to the question of “what constitutes adequate reproduction?”

In its manifold aspects, Bosch Reconstructed can be viewed variously as a color study, as an examination of graphic reproduction, and as a work of visual poetry.

Bosch Reconstructed is part of the Reconstructed series of art books (Da Vinci, Rembrandt, Vermeer, Monet, Renoir, Cézanne, Van Gogh, and Rousseau).

Book Details:
Softcover (or PDF Download)
Full Color
108 pages
216 x 216 mm, 8 1/2 x 8 1/2 in
ISBN-10: 0692334483
ISBN-13: 978-0692334485
Bosch Reconstructed
Softcover | $29.95
Signed Softcover | $49.95
PDF Download | $9.95
Set of All 9 Reconstructed Books including Bosch Reconstructed
Softcover Set | $190.00
Signed Set | $290.00
PDF Download Set | $49.00
Note: Softcover orders can only be shipped to US addresses. If you would like to order a softcover to be shipped to an address outside of the United States, Bosch Reconstructed is available from